Start as you mean to go on…… J5 were unreal!

I’ve been working in the public and voluntary sector over the last 8 years, and I ended up training people how to use social media. I’ve come to realise that my last blog failed cos it wasn’t part of what I do on a day to day basis, it was a task added on to my week.

This time I think I might be more successful – I usually go and see gigs about once a week, so there’s a good chance I may keep this going as music’s a big part of my life.

Last night I went to see Jurassic 5 in the O2 Academy in Bristol. The venue’s treated me well – you can only get so far away, so unless you’re unlucky (or the tallest guy there stands in front of you), you’re on to a winner.

First up proper were DJ Frenic and Blacksmith, who had a bloody lovely old school hip hop vibe on the go. They’re Bristol guys by all account, so it’s nice to know there’s some good hip-hop talent just down the road in Brizzle. They sampled some fantastic classics, including Let’s Stay Together by Al Green. Lovely stuff.

After a DJ set from some dude named Winchester (need to up my blogging game – need to remember first names) who mixed some modern classics from MOP and the Pharcyde pretty bloody well, on came J5. I’m primarily a rock fan, but they could teach most rock bands a thing or two about phrasing and harmonies (especially in Thin Line, which was amazing even without Nelly Furtado’s souly vocals).

Freedom was dedicated to Trayvon Martin (worth reading this article from Gary Younge if you want to know more about the intensity of this), which placed a huge song in an ever bigger context.

Their tight sound and an excited crowd (J5 hadn’t played here for 7 years, plus this was a an original line-up with Cut Chemist back in the fold), mixed with an insane live show involving an over-sized turntable, meant the whole place went off.

If you get a chance it’s definitely worth checking them out on this tour – they were insanely good and well worth the slightly pricey sum of 28 pounds!

About Dyfrig Williams

Music Bendigedig is a blog about the gigs I (Dyfrig Williams) get to go and see. I’m based in Cardiff, so most of the gigs I go to are here, with a few further afield. I don’t aim to be a critic – this is a music fan’s blog, written from that perspective.
This entry was posted in Hip-hop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

