Sky Larkin and Mowbird are awesome!

I remember trying to explain to someone years ago why I went to see bands play more than once. There are so many factors that come  go into a successful gig (sound, venue, band members, promotion, audience etc.) that each one is so different to the last. And occasionally this ends up with me getting into bands I haven’t previously been into.

My housemate is massively into Mowbird, and has been trying to get me into them for ages, but I’ve never managed it for some reason, but last night in the Gwdihw they just seemed to make sense to me all of a sudden. They somehow struck me as a cross between the Pixies and a lo-fi Surfer Blood. They put together an intense performance, with a sounds that managed to fill the intimate venue.

Radstewart were next on, and were also pretty decent. They struck me as a heavy Pavement, with lyrics that reminded me of Pulp’s surrealism (Yeah I’m sleazy / I’m sleazy for you / Are you sleazy for me?). Never been a fan of Pulp, but I’ve always admired Jarvis Cocker’s wordplay, so I’ll definitely be keeping an eye on what Radstewart are up to.

Last but not least were Sky Larkin, who I’d only previously seen at Two Thousand Trees Festival. I didn’t really ‘get’ them there – I don’t think the tent was a good environment for their sound, but in a small, intense venue the drums sounded crisper, and it was much easier to pick out the intricacies of the guitar sound. They played an X -Ray Spex cover in and amongst a set of storming songs

So it was a blinding gig, all for the princely sum of £5. I bloody love small venues!

About Dyfrig Williams

Music Bendigedig is a blog about the gigs I (Dyfrig Williams) get to go and see. I’m based in Cardiff, so most of the gigs I go to are here, with a few further afield. I don’t aim to be a critic – this is a music fan’s blog, written from that perspective.
This entry was posted in Indie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sky Larkin and Mowbird are awesome!

  1. Pingback: Swn Day 1: The day of days | Music Bendigedig

  2. Pingback: Good gig v Bad gig | Music Bendigedig

Leave a Reply

