Shellac smash it

I need to educate myself. There are so many bands out there that I should be into, but I’m not yet. Shellac are just 1 of them.

It’s not every day you rock up at a gig to see a cello player take on a solo slot. Well, not often if you’re a rock fan anyway. But Helen Money takes to the stage at the Fleece in Bristol and starts playing some amazingly discordant sounds from an instrument that’s still associated with classical music. She gets and incredible array of sounds from her instrument, armed with a hell of a distortion pedal. There’s not much interaction, which only adds to the atmospheric nature of her set. Very strong stuff.

When take to the stage, it immediately hits me that they’re more melodic than I expected. I expected the off-kilter and obtuse rhythms, but I didn’t expect to pick up on the melodic aspects that can be heard in some of my favourite bands, like Jetplane Landing. They are quite simply, a storming live band. I blogged about Everything Everything at Swn, and whilst I enjoyed, the faffing around with the lights did annoy me. No danger of that here – punk rock, and stripped back to basics. The no frills approach works, with the heavy sounds a nice contrast to Bob Weston’s Q&A with the audience between songs. Punk rock as it’s meant to be played.

Shellac Lighting Requirements - GENIUS

Definitely adding some Shellac vinyl to my Christmas list.

About Dyfrig Williams

Music Bendigedig is a blog about the gigs I (Dyfrig Williams) get to go and see. I’m based in Cardiff, so most of the gigs I go to are here, with a few further afield. I don’t aim to be a critic – this is a music fan’s blog, written from that perspective.
This entry was posted in Grunge, Punk, Rock and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shellac smash it

  1. Russell Todd says:

    Dwi’n caru’r cyfeiriadau goleuon!

Leave a Reply

