TTNG make acronyms cool

Obviously I hope the band I’m in brings some exciting times, but if nothing else, it’s introduced my bandmate to Twitter. Following a well-timed tweet from TTNG, a chilled out Friday night turned into an impromptu gig going experience – winner!

Victor Villareal supported, and his technical solo act was tailor-made for it. Like TTNG, he manages to fuse the progressive nature of what he plays with an emotive aspect. When he plays acoustic, his soft voice and chilled delivery reminds me a little of Nick Drake….. if Nick Drake souped-up his skills and became an uber-good badass guitarist.

I’d seen TTNG in Two Thousand Trees over the summer, and whilst I enjoyed, the intimacy of a small gig suits them down to the ground. I was never sure who to look at, as each band member if usually being insanely talented at any given moment. They open with Chinchilla, before playing Cat Fantastic, the storming opener from their latest album.

When you get a technically gifted bunch of musicians, you tend to get some egos flying around, but it’s not so here, with Henry Tremain referring to the audience as ‘dudes’ throughout. They play with an intense focus, and if there was a bum note I never heard. Amazingly tight considering the nature of what they play, with the laid back delivery of the vocals juxtaposing nicely with the frenetic nature of their sound.

Quite simply they’re geniuses. But geniuses with soul.

About Dyfrig Williams

Music Bendigedig is a blog about the gigs I (Dyfrig Williams) get to go and see. I’m based in Cardiff, so most of the gigs I go to are here, with a few further afield. I don’t aim to be a critic – this is a music fan’s blog, written from that perspective.
This entry was posted in Rock and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TTNG make acronyms cool

  1. Pingback: ArcTanGent: Maths can be fun | Music Bendigedig

Leave a Reply

