Getting into new / old music

La Dispute

La Dispute

I’m someone who’s a little predictable with my music buying habits. I obsess over new music, and rarely look backwards. It often takes lifts in friends’ cars for me to be reminded of amazing music that I have in my collection that I haven’t listened to in ages, on the simple basis that I’ve been caught up with new releases. I’m also pretty rubbish in checking out bands pre-80s, which is a pretty bad habit.

On the new side of stuff, I headed to Clwb Ifor Bach on Saturday to see La Dispute, and it turns out some quality support bands.

Whenever I see solo artists listed on bills, I always expect to see an acoustic guitar and a stripped back approach. So it was a nice surprise to Eugene Quell playing some grunge. Not just that, but that he and his bandmates played it with a laid back approach that made a nice contrast to the rest of the bands on the bill.

 

O’Brother played some ambitious post-hardcore that fully reminded me of Vheissu-era Thrice, and songs like Ascension came across incredibly well in the small, intimate venue.

 

I had high hopes for La Dispute, just based on their aggressive sound on record. They started off with a bang with Hudsonville MI 1956. But not to be outdone in terms of ambition, they played some more intimate material, including Woman (in Mirror) that I hoped for in my last post.

 

All in all a pretty awesome night.

In stark contrast to that, it was great to see the inspiring story of Death at Full Moon last night. Noys R Us screened A Band Called Death, which tells the tale of the 70’s proto-punk band. They battled expectations of their community as young black men weren’t expected to play rock n roll. They refused to sell out along the way, despite the offer of a massive pay check to ditch the name. Mix in some personal tragedy, redemption and a family full of massive characters, and you’ve got a hell of a documentary on your hands.

Their music is ambitious, which is pretty unreal thing to say about any straight-up punk band, let alone one that was formed in the early 70s. The film has also inspired me to look backwards a bit more. My more educated mate straight away started referencing bands such as MC5 and Bad Brains as comparators, and if I’m gonna truly understand the bands I love, then no doubt I need to properly check out their influences and where they came from. I’ve got some research to do.

About Dyfrig Williams

Music Bendigedig is a blog about the gigs I (Dyfrig Williams) get to go and see. I’m based in Cardiff, so most of the gigs I go to are here, with a few further afield. I don’t aim to be a critic – this is a music fan’s blog, written from that perspective.
This entry was posted in Punk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting into new / old music

  1. Joel Dear says:

    I have exactly the same hang-up with old music – it almost seems wasteful to spend money on an old album when that same tenner could buy me something brand new!

    • Yep! I seem to have a never ending list of new releases I need to purchase, so buying something that doesn’t have a timeframe for urgency seems a bit self-indulgent. I need to get over that, but that’s going to be challenging!

Leave a Reply

