Getting involved with Oxjam

Oxjam Cardiff 2014

As this is the 34th post on my blog, you may have gathered that I like music. What you may not know is that I’ve spent a good part of my life working for voluntary organisations, including a spell with Communities First, the Welsh Government’s anti-poverty programme. So when the opportunity came up to blog about the gigs that Oxfam (who work for a world without poverty) are putting on as part of the Oxjam Takeover in Cardiff on 16 November, I was keen as mustard.

For me, this is a unique opportunity to get involved with two things I’m passionate about – music, and improving the world we live in. Ok, my blog’s not going to change the world, but I’m just aiming to help publicise some bands who are a little under the radar, because no local band even breaks even financially, let alone makes a profit. So if I get to do that whilst also shining a bit of a light on what the good people of Oxfam are doing, then that can only be a good thing.

So this year you’ll see some posts on some Oxjam gigs on here. If you can, I urge you to get involved and check em out in the flesh too – you get to see good music and help out a great cause at the same time. There’s a music quiz with a live band at 8pm on 6 July in Full Moon. I shall be hoping my anally retentive attention to musical detail bears fruit and that I wipe the floor with you all!

About Dyfrig Williams

Music Bendigedig is a blog about the gigs I (Dyfrig Williams) get to go and see. I’m based in Cardiff, so most of the gigs I go to are here, with a few further afield. I don’t aim to be a critic – this is a music fan’s blog, written from that perspective.
This entry was posted in Indie, Rock and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting involved with Oxjam

  1. Pingback: Oxjam Line-up: Part 2 | Music Bendigedig

Leave a Reply

