Free gigs: How I Faked the Moon Landing, Esuna and Safari Gold

Esuna at Buffalo

Esuna at Buffalo

I’m more than happy to pay to go to a gig. It’s for the same reason as I pay for records – I want to support the artists in what they do. Illegal downloading is all fun and games until your favourite band decides to quit because they can’t make a living.

On Tuesday though I went to a free gig at Cardiff’s Buffalo, and the one thing these type of events do is make you take a punt on bands you wouldn’t normally check out. So hello Safari Gold, Esuna and How I Faked the Moon Landing.

We didn’t get the full Safari Gold experience as they were sans-rhythm section. But they were slick enough to suggest that they’d be technically tight as a full band. Both vocals contrasted nicely with each other, with a mid-range and higher end vocal giving a nice balance. They were also more than willing to poke fun at their rhythm-sectionless sound by repeatedly referring to themselves as lounge music. Their studio stuff sounds promising enough to make them worth checking out the next time they’re out and about.

I’d heard some good things about Esuna from some mates after they played Gwdihw earlier in the year. The fact that I’m still trying to figure out what exactly they sounded like is a good thing. A friend suggested that they might be a bit like a slightly heavier early Bombay Bicycle Club, with a bit of a math rock twist. That’s as close as I can get, but given that I like Bombay Bicycle Club and math rock, it’s no surprise that I like these guys too.

How I Faked the Moon Landing kinda reminded me of a fervent Two Door Cinema Club. Quite quirky single string guitar lines, with a fair bit of hi-hat in the drum parts. With a pretty intense singer. Two Door Cinema Club are too inoffensive to be intense, a criticism that can’t be levelled at these guys. There’s a hint of a Morrissey in the vocal delivery, in and amongst the shouting.

So that whole you get what you pay for thing is rubbish. Cos I paid nothing, but got to see three decent bands. It’s well worth getting out there and supporting your local scene, even if it is just to be an extra body at a gig.

About Dyfrig Williams

Music Bendigedig is a blog about the gigs I (Dyfrig Williams) get to go and see. I’m based in Cardiff, so most of the gigs I go to are here, with a few further afield. I don’t aim to be a critic – this is a music fan’s blog, written from that perspective.
This entry was posted in Indie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free gigs: How I Faked the Moon Landing, Esuna and Safari Gold

  1. Oli says:

    Cheers for the words, intense is what we (our singer at least) aim for,

    Oli from HIFTML

Leave a Reply

