Oxjam Cardiff 2014: The Final Post

Oxjam Cardiff 2014So it’s been just over a week since the Cardiff Oxjam Takeover took place, and rather predictably, it was fantastic.

It’s been awesome blogging on the event. I started out thinking that it would be a good chance to support a great cause, but it’s been more than that, it’s been an inspiring thing to have been involved in. Not only was the event a fantastic showcase of the local scene in Cardiff, it’s also shown me the value of hard work – the organising team (and the volunteers) were all amazing.

The highlights of the event for me won’t be a shock as I’ve already written about them. Scriber, Nanook of the North, Esuna were all unreal, as were The Gentle Good and Tree of Wolves.

Like any festival, there were bands I didn’t get the chance to check out. Birdcage in particular sound very cool, and it’s definitely worth keeping tabs on what they’re up to. Oxjam put together a great playlist for the event on Soundcloud, so you can still check out what the bands on the bill sounded like.

It’s not just me who thought the day was ace. I’ve put together a Storify on what people thought about the event. Unsurprisingly, everyone thought it was epic. See you there next year. The bar has been set unbelievably high!

About Dyfrig Williams

Music Bendigedig is a blog about the gigs I (Dyfrig Williams) get to go and see. I’m based in Cardiff, so most of the gigs I go to are here, with a few further afield. I don’t aim to be a critic – this is a music fan’s blog, written from that perspective.
This entry was posted in Indie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

